Planning and Managing Master Routes

Master Routes are the static routes that contain a specific set of sequenced addresses which are visited on a regular basis or a fixed schedule. Master Routes can be viewed as templates that are used to facilitate the planning of recurring routes that require only minor modifications. Using Master Routes allows you to save more time and resources by making your route planning and dispatching processes more efficient. There are two ways to create a Mater Route:

  1. Plan a new route and define it a Master Route. Learn how to plan new routes here;
  2. Convert an already planned route into a Master Route.

When creating a new Master Route or converting an already planned route into a Master Route, an additional user-defined element should be added to the route’s name, e.g., “Master Route,” “Master,” “MR,” “M,” etc.

 

Planning a New Master Route

To plan a new Master Route, first, go to “Plan New Route” from the navigation menu.

Planning and Managing Master Routes

 

Then, choose one of the methods of adding addresses.

Planning and Managing Master Routes

 

Type in the name of the route with an additional indicator of a Master Route, e.g., “Master Route,” “Master,” “MR,” or “M,” etc.

Planning and Managing Master Routes

Converting Already Planned Routes into Master Routes

To convert an already planned route into a Master Route, first, locate the route you want to convert in the Routes List and click on the gear icon next to it.

Planning and Managing Master Routes

 

Then, select “Rename Route.”

Planning and Managing Master Routes

 

Add the Master Route indicator (e.g., “Master Route,” “Master,” “MR,” or “M,” etc.) to the route’s name and click “Rename.”

Planning and Managing Master Routes

 

Duplicating and Re-Using Master Routes

To duplicate and re-use a Master Route, first, click on the gear icon next to the route that you want to duplicate.

Planning and Managing Master Routes

 

Select “Duplicate Route” when prompted.

Planning and Managing Master Routes

 

Once the route is duplicated, it appears at the top of the Routes List with the corresponding indicator. NOTE The changes you make to the duplicated route do not affect the Master Route.

Planning and Managing Master Routes

 

Managing Master Routes

Managing and editing Master Routes is the same process as managing and editing regular routes. All Master Routes are stored in the Routes List and marked with the corresponding indicator e.g. “Master Route,” “Master,” “MR,” or “M,” etc. Master Routes should only be edited if permanent and significant changes should be made to them. To avoid unwanted changes being made to Master Routes by members of your team, leave the Master Routes unassigned and assign only the duplicates to ensure that no one besides Route Planners and Account Owners has access to Master Routes.

Planning and Managing Master Routes

 

Visit Route4Me's Marketplace to Check out Associated Modules:

Was this article helpful?
Still can't find what you're looking for? Contact us