Rebalancing Routes With Route4Me’s Optimization Editor

Route Optimization is the process of determining the fastest and most cost-effective route sequence. Route4Me allows you to rebalance and modify optimized routes in the “Optimizations” section where you can make structural changes to your optimizations, such as moving stops from one route to another (for multiple-route optimizations), changing the optimization type, or changing the data and values in specific addresses without re-uploading or re-typing your destinations list.

 

To access your Optimizations List, click “Routes” and select “Optimizations.”

Rebalance and modify optimized routes when you use Route4Me

 

The “Optimizations” screen is split into three sections:

  1. Optimizations List: displays all active optimizations on your account. If the routes were planned using the “Multiple Drivers Route” optimization type, then one optimization may include more than one route;
  2. Routes and Contacts Map: displays a set of pins corresponding to the addresses in your Address Book. When editing an optimization, the Routes and Contacts Map will display the routes associated with that optimization;
  3. Timeline: displays the chronological sequence of addresses of the routes included in the optimization. You can learn more about using The Timeline to move stops between and within routes here.

Rebalance and modify optimized routes when you use Route4Me

 

Editing an Optimization

To edit an optimization, click on the gear icon next to the optimization you want to modify and select “Edit.”

Edit any route optimization in Route4Me

 

This action brings up:

  1. The optimization’s menu;
  2. The routes included in the optimization on the map;
  3. The timeline for each route included in the optimization.

Edit any route optimization in Route4Me

 

The timeline lets you view the routes included in the optimization linearly by the date and time of the planned visit. Rolling your mouse cursor over a stop on the timeline displays the details for that stop.

Edit any route optimization in Route4Me
For optimizations with multiple routes, you can move stops from one route to another. To do so, drag and drop a stop from one route to the desired location in another route. You can learn more about using The Timeline to move stops between and within routes here.

 

The optimization menu allows you to perform several route editing actions. It is split into two tabs: “Addresses” and “Settings.”

The “Addresses” tab displays all destinations within the selected optimization.

Edit any route optimization in Route4Me

 

Click on the name of a stop to bring up its menu and display it on the Map. This allows you to view and edit all information associated with the stop, as you would in the Route Editor.

Edit any route optimization in Route4Me

 

To add destinations to an optimization, click on the “Add New Address” button.

Edit any route optimization in Route4Me

 

To delete a stop from an optimization, click on the “X” button next to the stop that you want to remove.

Edit any route optimization in Route4Me

 

If you made any changes to the structure of any route(s) in an optimization, click the “Re-Optimize” button, to get the best possible structure and sequence of addresses in the route based on the predefined constraints.

Edit any route optimization in Route4Me

 

In the “Settings” tab, you can change parameters of the optimization (for a single or multiple routes). All of the parameters that were initially set when the route was planned can be modified, without re-uploading the address list.

Edit any route optimization in Route4Me

NOTE: Any changes made to the settings affect all routes included in the optimization.

 

Re-Optimizing an Optimization

Optimized routes can be modified manually (by adding and removing destinations or by changing the address sequence) in the Route Editor or the Routes Map.

If you want to discard the manual changes made to certain routes, you can re-optimize them and allow the system to determine the best possible address sequence for the routes included in the optimization.

 

To re-optimize an optimization, click the gear icon and select “Re-Optimize.”

Optimize routes again in Route4Me

 

Renaming an Optimization

By default, all optimizations are assigned the same name as the routes in which they were created. To rename an optimization, click the gear icon and select “Rename Optimization.”

Rename any route optimization in Route4Me

 

Type in a new name for the optimization, then click “Rename.”

Rename any route optimization in Route4Me

NOTE: Renaming an optimization will not change the name(s) of the route(s) included in that optimization.

 

Deleting an Optimization

To delete an existing optimization, click the gear icon next to the optimization you want to remove and select “Remove Optimization.”

Even after you optimize routes, you can delete an optimization in Route4Me

 

If you need to delete multiple optimizations at the same time, in the Optimizations List, check the boxes next to the optimizations you want to remove, then click “Delete.”

Even after you optimize routes, you can delete an optimization in Route4Me

NOTE: Deleting an optimization will also delete all routes included in that optimization.

 

Was this article helpful?
Still can't find what you're looking for? Contact us